It is needless to say that the decisions you make in your life, shape the life you live. When I first came across the image above, representing “The 2% Mindset”, it got me thinking. The more I analyzed the image, the more I was able to connect my own life experiences and decisions, both good and bad, to characteristics that I feel best describe the person I have become today.  The ability to tie the steps you have taken in your life to the attributes that make up the 2% mindset can help you realize what you have achieved and who you have become. It is amazing what you can discover about yourself and what you have done in your life so far if you take a moment to connect yourself to this mindset. Here is what I discovered:

Embracing The Unknown – In my opinion, embracing the unknown is one of the greatest fears for many people. Nevertheless, embracing the unknown and understanding that you just have to be brave enough to take the first step was something I was taught in my childhood.  Whether it had to do with hockey tryouts or taking an entrance exam for school, the fear of what I had no idea about always existed, however, I always knew that all I had to do was show up and try.

Excitement – As a child I was easily excited about new toys, vacations, movies etc. I was fortunate enough to have the ability to get to know this feeling and see the power that excitement can create because of the hard work and sacrifice of my parents, who always strived to give me and my siblings something to always look forward to. This taught me that focusing my energy on all of the good things in my life, whether big or small, can create a positive outlook on life and help achieve overall happiness and excitement.

Liking Change – My family moved around a lot throughout my life. This at times proved to be a gruelling experience that evoked feelings of instability. However, the constant shuffle gave me the ability to embrace change, making the best of it and in turn learning to like it. It is because of this that I am now able to quickly adapt to new environments and situations with ease.

Living Without Limits – I am very fortunate to have grown up with loving parents who were able to provide me with much of what I wanted. I had no real reason to be concerned about limits; however, I was always reminded of the importance of respect, appreciation and how anything in life should never be taken for granted. It is important to remember anything that walks into your life can walk out of it faster than you can imagine. Knowing this taught me how to live modestly, respectfully and to appreciate a life without limits whether it be financially or mentally.

Abundance – Abundance ties into being blessed with loving parents who cherished their children enough to give them the best life possible. Whether it was an abundance of material things or unlimited love and affection, the power of abundance was always present.

Act in Spite of Fear – When my hockey career ended abruptly, I was devastated.  In spite of fear, I decided that I wanted to go to business school and was able to fast track the completion of a 4 year degree in 3 years. I also chose to major in a discipline that always brought excitement to my life (entrepreneurship). It is important to understand that life doesn’t always go according to plan. It is also important to know that it is OK  – moving on will only help you grow and take you where you’re supposed to be.

Getting The Most Out of Life – Let’s face it, bad things can happen and this is something I’ve learned firsthand. My experience taught me how to be fearless and made me understand that there is no life without risk. Excitement happens when you are outside the realm of your comfort zone, when you are failing and learning. J.K. Rowling said it best: “It is impossible to live without failing at something, unless you live so cautiously that you might as well not have lived at all, in which case you have failed by default”. This way of thinking has made me believe that getting the most out of life, constantly developing as an individual and continuously learning are extremely important. So, in the words of Richard Branson, “Screw it, just do it!”

Fulfillment – After graduating from business school I experienced the power of fulfillment as my hard work brought me to success. I will always remember the proud smiles on my parent’s faces.  Their crazy little boy got it done!

Choosing Happiness – Past relationships (good & bad) proved to be great learning experiences in my life. They showed me the difference between being happy and achieving true happiness. These stepping stones led me to the love of my life, an individual who supports me in everything I do and truly makes me a happy man! My parents always taught me that health, happiness and family are most important in life. At the end of the day, those aspects are what truly matter.

Exploring New Things – With hockey, came travelling…a lot of travelling. From little towns in Canada, to mid-sized towns in the USA, to big cities in Europe, this experience gave me the opportunity to explore new worlds and adapt to new atmospheres that quickly became the norm for that time.

Confidence – Being an athlete, confidence, a focused mentality and stability are the keys to successful outcomes. As a goaltender in hockey, I had to be focused and confident at all times, especially when it came to big and important matches throughout my career.

Going for Your Dreams – My parents always told me to chase my dreams, and truly meant it.  At the age of 18, I told my parents I did not want to go to University. Instead I wanted to pursue my dream of making it to the NHL. My parents never shot my dream down and always encouraged me to do whatever I could to get there.  They always reminded me of how much they believed in me and supported me as I worked hard to achieve my dream. Today I am glad that I chased that dream as far as I could because I would never want to go on with my life constantly asking myself, What if?

If you really think about it, we are all capable of falling into that 2 percent. Have the courage to let your life play out the way it should, the way you want it. Embrace the good, embrace the bad, embrace change, embrace failure and most importantly, embrace life and move forward. Have faith that everything happens for a reason and that it will always work out as long as you work hard, have fun, love your family and go after what you believe in. Don’t stop dreaming. Wake up and turn those dreams into reality!

 

– Nunzio Presta, CEO

 

From The Desk of BizON
Health. Happiness. Family. Success.
Remember, if you are interested in receiving the latest business news, insights and opportunities from BizON, click here. Also, if you are not a member yet, what are you waiting for? Click here!
